Blaxland High School

A School of Excellence, Opportunity and Success

Telephone02 4739 4655

Learning at our school

Find out more about what your child will learn at our school.

The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) is responsible for the curriculum, Kindergarten to Year 12, for all NSW schools.

For the high school years, NESA develops syllabuses for all subjects in 8 key learning areas:

  • creative arts
  • English
  • human society and its environment (HSIE)
  • languages
  • mathematics
  • personal development, health and physical education (PDHPE)
  • science
  • technological and applied studies (TAS).

NSW schools also offer special religious education and special education in ethics via approved providers, where available.

Like all NSW schools, we have developed teaching and learning programs to suit our local context and the needs of our students.

To learn more about the curriculum in NSW, visit:

Stages of learning

There are 6 stages of learning from Kindergarten to Year 12. High school covers Stages 4 to 6.

  • Stage 4 includes Years 7 and 8.
  • Stage 5 includes Years 9 and 10.
  • Stage 6 includes Years 11 and 12.

Transitioning to Year 8

For more information on subjects in Year 8, download the 2018 subject selection (PDF 416KB).

Transitioning to Year 9 and Year 10

For more information on subjects in Year 9 and Year 10, download the subject selection booklet (PDF 1163KB).

Transitioning to Year 11

Transitioning to Year 11 is an exciting process. Download the Blaxland High School senior subject selection booklet (PDF 1574KB) for a comphrensive guide to all proposed courses offered to Year 11 students in 2018.

For information about university courses and entry requirements, download the university entry requirements 2019 for Year 10 students (PDF 2755KB). The booklet lists courses the universities admission centre (UAC) participating instituions will offer. It contains details of prerequisties, assumed knowledge, recommended studies and selection criteria for all university courses.

Visit the vocational education and training (VET) website for information on Higher School Certificate (HSC) studies with a vocational qualification. The website provides information on school to work, vocational education and training (VET) courses, trades training in schools, workplace learning and school based apprenticeships and traineeships (SBATs).